Export Navigator

Helping your business access new markets

Export Navigator Services

The program offers access to community-based export specialists who can provide a personalized, step-by-step approach to exporting and help connect your business to the appropriate market information, export programs, financial services, and business development experts at every stage of the process.
 

Who is Eligible?

Export Navigator is open to growth-oriented small and medium-sized businesses within the six regional communities. Businesses must be willing to commit resources to the planning process, and sustaining a market entry strategy.
 

Service Providers

For services in your community, please call:
 
Cariboo Region: Community Futures Fraser Fort George
Phone: 250-960-0246
Charles Scott at charles@exportnavigator.ca
 
Central Vancouver Island Region: Community Futures Alberni-Clayoquot
Phone: 250-724-1241
Darrell Goertzen at darrell@exportnavigator.ca
Kurt Fischer at kurt@exportnavigator.ca
 
Comox Valley: Economic Development Society
Phone: 250-334-2427
Geoff Crawford at geoff@exportnavigator.ca
 
Kootenay Boundary Region: Community Futures Central Kootenay
Phone: 250-352-1933
Michael Hoher at michael@exportnavigator.ca
 
North Okanagan Region: Community Futures North Okanagan
Phone: 250-545-2215
Connie Viszlai at connie@exportnavigator.ca
Stuart Anderson at stuart@exportnavigator.ca

Pacific Northwest Region: Community Futures Pacific Northwest
Phone: 250-622-2332
John Farrell at john@exportnavigator.ca
Eli Kelly at eli@exportnavigator.ca

For businesses in the Lower Mainland and those outside of the pilot communities, the Province’s network of international Trade and Investment Representatives and trade professionals are available to help you. 
 
For more information please email: info@exportnavigator.ca

 

Questions and Answers 

How does Export Navigator support B.C. businesses looking to access new markets?

  • Businesses receive in-person guidance from an advisor with advanced knowledge in market expansion strategy. Advisors connect businesses to the right service at the right time, saving them time and money.

How quickly do I have to start entering new markets?

  • Entering new markets takes time. Export Navigator’s goal is to help businesses work efficiently and effectively towards achieving their identified opportunities.

What does a good candidate look like?

  • A business that can scale up operations, is willing to adapt its goods or services, and is able to self-fund or obtain financing for a sustained expansion strategy.

Is there a fee to participate in the Export Navigator program?

  • No. Essential services (market entry readiness assessment, business needs assessment, etc.) are free. Clients referred to other service providers for additional support may be subject to a fee for services.

When will I find out if my business qualifies?

  • Following the completion of a client self-assessment, you will meet with your export advisor to determine if your business would benefit from participation in Export Navigator.